You may be able to register a car without a license in Iowa but you will need to provide proof of insurance. You may also need to show proof of ownership of the vehicle such as a bill of sale. The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) will be able to provide you with more specific information.
Can you register a car without a license in Iowa?
No you need a valid driver’s license to register a vehicle in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to register a car in Iowa?
18 years old
What do you need to bring to the Iowa DMV to register your car?
The vehicle’s title your driver’s license and proof of insurance.
Can someone else register your car for you in Iowa?
Only if they have power of attorney.
How much does it cost to register a car in Iowa?
The fee is $50 for a new registration or a renewal plus a $5 fee for the Iowa Motor Vehicle Registration Plate Renewal Fund.
How often do you need to renew your registration in Iowa?
What do you need to do to renew your registration in Iowa?
You need to renew it online by mail or in person.
What happens if you don’t renew your registration in Iowa?
Your registration will expire and you will no longer be able to drive your vehicle legally.
How long do you have to renew your registration after it expires in Iowa?
You have 30 days to renew it.
What is the late fee for renewing your registration in Iowa?
The late fee is $20.
What do you need to do if you move to Iowa and want to register your car?
You need to register it within 30 days of moving to the state.
Do you need to have car insurance to register your car in Iowa?
Yes you need proof of insurance to register a vehicle in Iowa.
What is the minimum amount of liability insurance you need to have to register a car in Iowa?
$25000 bodily injury liability per person $50000 bodily injury liability per accident and $15000 property damage liability per accident.
What happens if you are caught driving without a valid registration in Iowa?
You could be fined up to $200.
What happens if you are caught driving without insurance in Iowa?
You could be fined up to $500.