What Is The Car Seat Law In Missouri

In Missouri all children under the age of 8 must be properly secured in an approved child restraint device while riding in a motor vehicle.

There are a few exceptions to this law:

– If the child is over 80lbs or 4ft 9in tall they may be secured by a seatbelt

– If all seatbelts in the vehicle are in use and there is no child restraint device available then the child may ride unrestrained in the back seat

– If the vehicle is not required by federal law to have seatbelts then the child may ride unrestrained

– If the child is riding in an emergency vehicle or a bus

There are four types of child restraint devices that are approved for use in Missouri:

– Infant-only seats

– Convertible seats

– Booster seats

– Belt-positioning seats

Infant-only seats are for children who weigh less than 20lbs and are less than a year old. Convertible seats can be used in both the forward-facing and rear-facing position and are for children who weigh between 20-40lbs. Booster seats are for children who have outgrown their convertible seat but are not tall enough to use a seatbelt alone. Belt-positioning seats are for children who have outgrown their booster seat and are tall enough to use a seatbelt.

All child restraint devices must be used in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.

Missouri law requires that all children under the age of 16 must be properly secured in a seatbelt while riding in a motor vehicle. There are a few exceptions to this law:

– If the child is over 80lbs or 4ft 9in tall they may be secured by a seatbelt

– If all seatbelts in the vehicle are in use and there is no child restraint device available then the child may ride unrestrained in the back seat

– If the vehicle is not required by federal law to have seatbelts then the child may ride unrestrained

See also  How To Get Fish Smell Out Of Car

– If the child is riding in an emergency vehicle or a bus

All drivers and passengers in a motor vehicle must wear a seatbelt. Missouri law requires that all front seat occupants must wear a seatbelt. If a child under the age of 16 is riding in the front seat they must be secured by a seatbelt or child restraint device.

Missouri law prohibits any driver from knowingly permitting a person under the age of 18 to ride unrestrained in a motor vehicle.

Violating the child passenger safety law in Missouri is a “secondary offense” which means that a police officer can not stop a vehicle solely for the purpose of issuing a citation for a seatbelt or child restraint violation. The officer must have another reason to stop the vehicle such as a traffic violation before issuing a citation for a seatbelt or child restraint violation.

The fine for not properly restraining a child in a motor vehicle is $50.

For more information on the car seat law in Missouri you can contact the Missouri Highway Patrol at 573-526-6178 or visit their website at www.mshp.dps.mo.gov.

Table of Contents

How old does a child have to be to ride in the front seat in Missouri?

A child has to be at least 8 years old to ride in the front seat in Missouri.

How many car seats are required for children under the age of 4 in Missouri?

Missouri requires 2 car seats for children under the age of 4.

What are the car seat requirements for a child under the age of 2 in Missouri?

A child under the age of 2 in Missouri must be in a rear-facing car seat.

What are the car seat requirements for a child between the ages of 2 and 4 in Missouri?

A child between the ages of 2 and 4 in Missouri must be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness.

What are the car seat requirements for a child over the age of 4 in Missouri?

A child over the age of 4 in Missouri must be in a booster seat.

Does Missouri have a law requiring children to be in a car seat?

Yes Missouri has a law requiring children to be in a car seat.

What is the fine for not following the car seat law in Missouri?

The fine for not following the car seat law in Missouri is $50.

What is the age limit for a child to ride in the front seat in Missouri?

The age limit for a child to ride in the front seat in Missouri is 8 years old.

How many car seats are required for children under the age of 4 in Missouri if they are riding in the front seat?

Two car seats are required for children under the age of 4 in Missouri if they are riding in the front seat.

What are the car seat requirements for a child under the age of 2 in Missouri if they are riding in the front seat?

A child under the age of 2 in Missouri must be in a rear-facing car seat if they are riding in the front seat.

See also  What Do Race Car Drivers Wear

What are the car seat requirements for a child between the ages of 2 and 4 in Missouri if they are riding in the front seat?

A child between the ages of 2 and 4 in Missouri must be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness if they are riding in the front seat.

What are the car seat requirements for a child over the age of 4 in Missouri if they are riding in the front seat?

A child over the age of 4 in Missouri must be in a booster seat if they are riding in the front seat.

Is there a law in Missouri that requires children to be in a car seat when riding in the front seat?

No there is not a law in Missouri that requires children to be in a car seat when riding in the front seat.

What is the fine for not following the car seat law in Missouri if a child is riding in the front seat?

The fine for not following the car seat law in Missouri if a child is riding in the front seat is $100.

What are the car seat requirements for a child under the age of 2 in Missouri if they are riding in the front seat?

A child under the age of 2 in Missouri must be in a rear-facing car seat if they are riding in the front seat.

Leave a Comment